Kaumatua

Tai Te Ngahere (Olly) Taukamo
Tai Te Ngahere (Olly) Taukamo

Board

Dave Barton (Chair)
Dave Barton (Chair)

A practising veterinarian for 35 years, Dave is managing director of Wanganui Veterinary Services Ltd. Dave has two adult sons who grew up here and were educated in Wanganui. Dave wants to do all he can to help children have a great start in life and for all children to be safe and looked after with consistent boundaries. Dave has been a Trustee since 2008 and was appointed Chair late 2009.

Susan Osborne
Susan Osborne

Whanganui – Te Atihaunui a Paparangi, Ngāti Pareraukawa, Ngāti Wai oNgāti Tama.

Susan has a solid Tikanga Maori heritage which enables her to work with all cultures. As a leader in Te Ao Māori she has developed and implemented kaupapa Māori health initiatives, improving the overall whanau ora and wellbeing of whanau, hapu and Iwi. Susan’s biggest achievement to date is being the mother of her three now adult children and especially being blessed almost 5 years ago with her dearest grandaughter Tuera.  The overall jigsaw whanganui kaupapa in its entirety is very close to Susan’s heart, she believes the future and well-being of the next generation and those to come are of utmost importance.  Mouri Ora ki te hunga ririki me nga mokopuna kei te heke mai. Susan has been a trustee since May 2013.

Brian Doughty
Brian Doughty

Brian is the newest member of the Board and brings with him considerable governance experience. He is the provincial president of Wanganui Federated Farmers and has over 10 years’ governance experience across five trusts. Brian is married to Rae with a combined family of nine grown-up children and lots of grandchildren! He appreciates the chance to support the agency to build brighter and better futures for families with children. Brian had been a Trustee since 2013.

Diane-McClelland
Diane McClelland

Diane was born and grew up in Wanganui, returning to marry Glen and they have a young adult son. As a registered nurse and anaesthetic technician she is involved in the Perioperative Nurses College and training registered nurse anaesthetic technicians. Diane believes strongly that children are our future and wants children to have every opportunity to be loved and encouraged forward in life. Diane has been a Trustee since 2002.

Lorraine Taylor
Lorraine Taylor

Lorraine currently holds dual roles of Social Work Professional Advisor and Social Work Clinical Coordinator of the physical health Social Work Team at Whanganui DHB. She has worked predominantly in health throughout her lengthy Social Work career. It is well understood that the contributing factors to poor health and subsequent hospital admissions are so frequently enmeshed and related to underlying social determinants of health. Hence, the work jigsaw whanganui staff do to support women, children, and families/whanau to achieve total “wellness” is therefore so sensible and so necessary. Lorraine has always held the jigsaw whanganui agency in high regard for its accountable, professional and quality services so it was with pleasure that she accepted an invitation to become a Board member in 2011.

Management Team

Tim Metcalfe
Tim Metcalfe

Executive Officer
tim@jigsawwhanganui.org.nz

Tim has over 35 years’ experience in teaching, community education, social work and counselling. He has participated in numerous local and national initiatives to assist whānau and families to thrive. For the past 9 years Tim chaired the national board of Jigsaw, a national network of 45 independent community organisations and served on the Ministry of Justice Domestic Violence Programmes Approvals panel for 6 years. He has been honoured by Rotary International as Paul Harris Fellow and in 2011 was awarded the Queens Service Medal for services to the community. Tim really appreciates belonging to a highly competent team doing critical work for the future wellbeing of our communities.
Tim has led the jigsaw whanganui team, for the past 10 years.

Gael Clark
Gael Clark

Practice Manager
gael@jigsawwhanganui.org.nz

Gael was born and raised in Shannon. Gael and her husband have six adult children and 14 grandchildren between them. She is very interested in cultures, different ways of experiencing the world and loves to travel. Gael has worked in the Social Services for 24 years. She leads our team of Social Workers who work alongside families to be the best for their children. Gael has a passion for children’s well-being and social justice. For the last 20 years Gael has shared in the growth of this agency dedicated to supporting families provide safe care and nurture for their children.

Gayna Ryan
Gayna Ryan

Office Manager
gayna@jigsawwhanganui.org.nz

Gayna runs the engine room of our agency. She’s out the back, twiddling the knobs, stoking the fires and making sure everything out front is bright and shiny (ramping up our IT systems, managing the cashflow and making it easy for our frontline staff to do their thing). She enjoys working with a team of incredibly skilled professionals who partner with whanau and families to achieve some really positive outcomes for their children and for our community. Working for jigsaw whanganui, a not for profit charitable trust, helps her to feel that she is making a contribution to the wellbeing of our community every day, and she says “that’s a feeling money can’t buy”. Gayna has been part of the team for almost a year.

David Rees
David Rees

SWiS Co-ordinator
david@jigsawwhanganui.org.nz

David is a registered Social Worker and a full member of ANZASW the professional Social Work body. He is the Social Workers in Schools coordinator and also allocated to one of the 24 schools covered by SWiS. David graduated in 1995 from the Whanganui Community Polytechnic with a Diploma in Social Work with distinction and has worked in his chosen profession since 1996. He has 4 adult children and 3 moko of Ngapuhi descent and lives in a blended family situation with his partner, her 2 teens and various pets. David really appreciates the family/whanau friendly atmosphere, the strong child centred family focused values and beliefs and the unstinting professional and personal support in his role at jigsaw whanganui. David has been part of the jigsaw whanganui team since 2012

Home Based Social Work

Gael ClarkPractice Managergael@jigsawwhanganui.org.nz
Paul CurranSocial WorkerPaul@jigsawwhanganui.org.nz
Karen HouiaSocial Workerkaren@jigsawwhanganui.org.nz
Vanya TekiSocial Workervanya@jigsawwhanganui.org.nz
Rachelle WhiteheadSocial Workerrachelle@jigsawwhanganui.org.nz

009

Social Workers In Schools

David ReesSWiS Co-ordinatordavid@jigsawwhanganui.org.nz
Louisa ShepardSocial Worker in Schoolslouisa@jigsawwhanganui.org.nz
Sandy Dunlop (absent)Social Worker in Schoolssandy@jigsawwhanganui.org.nz
Maria LarkingSocial Worker in Schoolsmaria@jigsawwhanganui.org.nz
Steph RobinsonSocial Worker in Schoolssteph@jigsawwhanganui.org.nz
Tania EdwardsSocial Worker in Schoolstania@jigsawwhanganui.org.nz

Programmes

Programmes

Sue WellsProgramme Facilitatorsue@jigsawwhanganui.org.nz
Robina NichollProgramme Facilitatorrobina@jigsawwhanganui.org.nz
Clare HirotiProgramme Facilitatorclare@jigsawwhanganui.org.nz
Ellie BriggsProgramme Facilitatorannemarie@jigsawwhanganui.org.nz

DSCF0040

Administration

Gayna Ryan Office Managergayna@jigsawwhanganui.org.nz
Rachael DobleAdministratorrachael@jigsawwhanganui.org.nz
Toni Brider Office Keeper

Family Violence Integrated Services Project

Donna

Donna GarmanFVISP Administratordonna@jigsawwhanganui.org.nz